How do you unplug a kitchen sink?

If the problem is not the garbage disposer, use a plunger. Fill the sink with 2 to 3" of water to ensure plunger seals around drain, then hold a wet rag tightly in other double sink drain. Plunge vigorously up & down about 20 seconds, popping plunger off drain on last upstroke for extra pressure.