What is channeling do in minecraft?

The Channeling enchantment is a new enchantment that will be available in the Aquatic Update (Java Edition 1.13) and can be added to a trident. With this enchantment, your trident will summon a lightning bolt at a mob if you throw the trident and it hits the mob (while its standing in the rain).