When are grapefruits ripe?

Grapefruit should be harvested when at least half of the peel has started to turn yellow or pink. Mature grapefruit may still be green in color, but a better bet is to wait until the fruit turns hue. Remember, the longer the fruit stays on the tree, the sweeter it becomes; so be patient.