What type of fish is a scallop?

Scallops are a bivalve mollusk(Pectinidae family) and are related to clams, mussels, and oysters. There are many varieties of scallop, but the most common is the tiny bay scallop, found in East Coast bay and estuaries, and the larger sea scallop, which exists in deep, cold waters on the ocean floor.