Was there a plague in the sixteen hundreds?

The Great Plague of London occured between 1664 and 1665. Caused by rat fleas, it is estimated that 100,000 people died out of a population of 480,000.

---

At the end of the 16th century, the plague hit San Cristóbal de La Laguna (1582–83) in the Canary Islands. In the 17th century, outbreaks were a series of "great plagues": the Great Plague of Seville (1647–52), the Great Plague of London (1665–66) and the Great Plague of Vienna (1679).