How did they build toys?

Polymers or plastic pellets are introduced in the machine to be melted. The pellets mix together with dye at high temperature and they form a thick paste. This paste, or hot molten plastic, is shot by the machine into the molds cavities. Then it cools, it hardens, and, now a solid object.