Where is the highest crime rate in the united states?

Crime rates vary by type of crime. The state with the highest violent crime rate is Tennessee, with a violent crime rate of 608 crimes per 100,000 people. However, Washington, D.C. a capital district, has a violent crime rate of 1,200 per 100,000 population.