What is sub cooling?

Subcooling is the cooling of a fluid below its transition temperature, ie cooling below the temperature at which it condenses to a liquid. This is necessary in condensers as usually the fluid is pumped out, and pumps have a slight vacuum at the suction which would cause the fluid to flash to steam