What are the four elements?

Water. Earth. Fire. Air. Long ago, the four nations lived together in harmony. Then, everything changed when the Fire Nation attacked. Only the Avatar, master of all four elements, could stop them, but when the world needed him most, he vanished.

---

In western culture the Greek philosopher Empedocles was the first to posit that all things were made up of a combination of air, earth, fire, and water. Other cultures had similar lists, but included other elements such as 'void', "wood", or "metal".