What is a mosque?

A mosque, also called masjid, is a place of prayer for Muslims. Mosques are usually covered buildings, but can be any place where prayers are performed, including outdoor courtyards. The first mosques were simple places of prayer for Muslims, and may have been open spaces rather than buildings.