Can you store tomatoes with onions?

Tomatoes and onions should be stored separately. While both are to be kept in a cool and dry place and should not be refrigerated, each has its own specific storage recommendations. Storing tomatoes and onions separately will ensure a longer shelf life and preserve their nutritional value longer.