What is a thousand leagues under the sea?

A league is a distance of 3 miles on land, or about 3 & 1 half miles at sea. 1,000 leagues under the sea would be about 3,500 miles straight down. There is no place in Earth's oceans that deep. Going that distance straight down would put you underground, within 500 miles of the Earth's center.