How do you cook spare ribs in a crock pot?

Place onion, garlic and ribs in the slow cooker with a touch of water (or broth). Close the lid and let the crock pot work its magic. Once tender, brush the ribs with sauce (or just olive oil, salt and pepper if you'd prefer) and broil (or grill) for 3 to 5 minutes to get a little bit of char.