How are beehives made?

A natural beehive is comparable to a bird's nest built to protect the bees. The beehive's internal structure is a densely packed group of hexagonal cells made of beeswax, called a honeycomb. The bees use the cells to store food (honey and pollen) and to house the "brood" (eggs, larvae, and pupae).