What is sodium poly phosphate?

It is also known as pentasodium salt or triphosphoric acid. Sodium Acid Polyphosphate (SAPP) is used for various baking and leavening applications. Some food grade SAPP products have slower reaction rates which make them ideal for refrigerated doughs, cakes, muffins, pancake mixes & baking powders.