How do you shield surf in breath of the wild?

To Shield Surf, you must have a shield equipped, and are preferably near downward sloping terrain. While running, press the Jump Button (X) and then while in mid-jump, tap the Shield Parry Button (A) to do a flip while putting your shield at your feet.