Why do cats swing their tails?

Cats swing their tails for many reasons and the movement can indicate their mood. Lashing it back and forth vigorously usually means they're angry. Flicking just the tip can mean they are annoyed, graceful sweeping movement can mean they are intent or excited like when spotting a bird.