What can magnets stick to?

Many substances are affected by some level of magnetism, but the strongest magnetism encountered by most people is ferromagnetism, magnetism of metals containing iron. Ferromagnets, such as refrigerator magnets, will stick to objects containing iron, such as pure iron, and steel.