Why did the people of pompeii turn into stone?

The people of Pompeii, Italy were buried under volcanic ash when Mount Vesuvius erupted in 79AD. Human bodies were interred in the hardening ash but over time decayed, leaving voids which Archaeologists used as moulds to make plaster casts. These gruesome statues show their final moments of life.

---

Volcanic ash condensed around human corpses in Pompeii. After the corpses decayed, cavities were left in the ash. Archaeologists excavating the ruins learned that if plaster was poured into the cavities and allowed to harden before the ash was chipped away, a perfect mold of the people was produced.