How big is a ten gallon hat?

A 10 gallon hat is a cowboy hat.Cowboys in the Southwest often crossed paths with Mexican vaqueros who wore braided hatbands—called galóns in Spanish—on their sombreros. A 10 galón sombrero was a hat with a large enough crown to hold 10 hatbands.American cowboys anglicized it to 10-gallon hats.