What is tweedle dee and tweedle dum?

Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum are characters from "Alice in Wonderland." Contrary to the way the term is used now (to indicate a pair of people who are dim-witted) the twins in the story were quite bright and enjoyed intellectual games, riddles, jokes and reciting poetry