Are brown paper bags compostable?

Yes, paper bags make good composting ingredients. Make sure you shred the paper bag into smaller pieces before it's mixed into the compost pile. The brown paper bags you get from grocery stores and food establishments can also be recycled and or used for mulching purposes.