What does e. n. t. a. n. g. e. r. e. d. spell?

E-N-D-A-N-G-E-R-E-D spells "endangered," which describes something as being in peril, generally due to some outside force. It's most often applied to a species of plant or animal which is on the verge of becoming extinct.