What part of the body is the sciatic nerve?

The sciatic nerve is a part of the nervous system. It leaves the spinal chord as a bundle of neuronal tissue, made up of five nerve branches, two from the lumbar region of the lower back, and three from the tailbone. It travels through the buttocks then down both legs to the feet.