Who is the first person to go to the moon?

On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong became the first human to step on the moon. He and Buzz Aldrin walked around the moon's surface for nearly three hours, performing experiments and collecting bits of moon dirt and rocks. They erected a U.S. flag on the moon, and also left a sign for future visitors.