What is the show alienist about?

The Alienist is an American period drama television series based on the 1994 novel of the same name by Caleb Carr. ... The series stars Daniel Brühl, Luke Evans, and Dakota Fanning as an ad hoc team assembled in mid-1890s New York City to investigate a serial killer who is murdering street children.