What are the strings on a bass guitar?

The standard design for the electric bass guitar has four strings, tuned: E, A, D and G, in fourths such that the open highest string, G, is an eleventh (an octave and a fourth) below middle C, making the tuning of all four strings the same as that of the double bass.

---

The standard design for the electric bass guitar has four strings, tuned E, A, D and G.