Is a ceiling a wall?

No, a ceiling is not a wall. A wall typically a vertical, or nearly vertical structure that is around the perimeter of an enclosed space. A ceiling on the other hand encloses or covers the wall the wall from above. A ceiling parallels the floor unless it's angled or pitched to follow the rafters