How close is a thunderstorm?

There is a fun way to tell based on science. First, make sure you’re safely inside. After you see a flash of lightning, count the number of seconds until you hear the thunder. For every 5 seconds the storm is one mile away. Divide the total number of seconds by 5 to get the number of miles.