Why is it called eggplant?

The name eggplant was given by Europeans in the middle of the eighteenth century because the variety they knew had fruits that were the shape and size of goose eggs. That variety also had fruits that are a whitish or yellowish color rather than the wine purple that is more familiar to us nowadays.