How do you cut up a leak?

Using a large chef’s knife, slice off the root end of the leek. Slice off the tough green top. Slice the leek in half lengthwise. Place both halves cut side down, then cut the leek into thin half moons. To clean the leeks, place them into a bowl of water and shake loose any visible dirt.