Why do they call the police the fuzz?

The “fuzz” was a derogatory slang term for police officers used in the late 60’s and early 70’s, popular among hippies. The term, “the fuzz,” used to describe the police, originated in England, as it referred to the felt covering on the helmet worn by members of the Metropolitan Police Service.