What's the difference between sherry and cooking sherry?

Sherry has long been a popular cooking ingredient, but only lasts a few days after a bottle is opened. Sherry cooking wine, on the other hand, is preserved with salt to make it last longer. While its high sodium content discourages many from using it, cooking sherry can add a sweeter taste to a dish

---

Cooking sherry has additional salt added to make the taste unappetizing if had alone.