What kind of car was knight rider?

1982 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am

---

In the original TV series, KITT is a Pontiac Firebird Trans Am. Later in the 2008 reboot, which was sponsored by Ford, KITT is a Ford Shelby GT500KR Mustang who could disguise as a Ford F-150 FX4 pickup truck, Ford E-150 van, Ford Flex, Ford Crown Victoria Police Interceptor, or 1969 Mach 1 Mustang.