Why does the earth tilt on its axis?

It doesn’t just tilt, it wobbles, or more accurately precesses, like a spinning top on its axis. The effect is to bring the northern hemisphere closer to the sun for 3 months of the year and the southern hemisphere closer for 3 months. It is what are called seasons and uniformly warms the planet.