Why are black cats considered bad luck?

Thousands of years ago, all types of cats were thought to be incarnations of the goddess Bast, and were treated like royalty. Christians then declared them to be pagan symbols. In 1233 AD, Pope Gregory IX put the final nail in the black cat coffin when he declared them an incarnation of the devil.