Why do mosquitoes bite?

Just female mosquitos “bite”. They need a blood meal to produce eggs which they lay on, in, or near water. Unfortunately, when they “bite” to obtain blood some of their saliva gets into the host and can spread diseases like Zika, yellow fever, malaria and many others.