Does polenta go bad?

Yes, it can go bad. It's pretty much the same as the way flour can go bad: the fats can go rancid. Grains are mostly starch, but they contain enough fat for rancidity to be a noticeable problem. You can typically store it in a cool dry area for up to two years after opening.