Was saint patrick born in rome?

He was born in Britannia. In his lifetime, the British Isles were occupied by the Romans, a group that included his parents and thus the saint himself. It's unknown whether his family, thought to have been part of the Roman aristocracy, was of indigenous Celtic descent or from modern-day Italy.