How many people get struck by lightning a year?

About 240,000 incidents regarding lightning strikes happen each year. Annual fatality tolls vary greatly. One estimate is that the annual global death toll is 6,000. On the other hand, according to National Geographic, annually about 2,000 people are killed worldwide by lightning.