Is baking soda harmful?

Baking soda or bicarbonate of soda is often used in cooking in small amounts. It's also an effective remedy for acid indigestion but in larger amounts can cause dehydration or even kidney failure. It is best to use in very small quantities or as prescribed by a medical professional.