How hot are light bulbs?

Depending on the temperature of the light bulb filament, radiation is emitted from the filament. The filament's temperature is very high, generally over 2,000º C, or 3,600º F. In a "standard" 60-, 75-, or 100-Watt bulb, the filament temperature is roughly 2,550º C, or roughly 4,600º F.

---

The average lightbulb reaches a temperature of 4,600 degrees Fahrenheit.