Who is the singer known as the velvet fog?

Blessed with impeccable timing and a smooth, mellow timbre, Mel Tormé was known during his heyday as The Velvet Fog. Tormé was the consummate entertainer: as a drummer, singer, composer, arranger, lyricist, writer and actor, his career spanned nearly the entire 20th century of American pop culture.