Why do they call it a ten gallon hat?

A '10 galón' sombrero was a hat with a large enough crown that it could hold 10 hatbands, but American cowboys may have anglicized the word to 'gallon' and started referring to their own sombrero-inspired headgear as '10-gallon hats.

---

It held 10 Gallons of water