How many time zones are in australia?

There are three time zones in Australia: Australian Eastern Standard Time ( AEST ) : in New South Wales , Australian Capital Territory , Victoria , Tasmania and Queensland . Australian Central Standard Time ( ACST ) in South Australia and Northern Territory .