When can babies sit?

At 4 months, a baby typically can hold his/her head steady without support, and at 6 months, he/she begins to sit with a little help. At 9 months he/she sits well without support, and gets in and out of a sitting position but may require help.

---

It is recommended to allow your infant to maintain a seated position, along as they are comfortable in doing so. Length of sit, and the amount of time prior/post sitting, may correlate to known factors, such as hunger, fear, anger, pain, or fatigue; (see: 'Baby-Sitting', for more information.)