Why do your fingers prune?

Laboratory tests confirmed a theory that wrinkly fingers improve our grip on wet or submerged objects, working to channel away the water like the rain treads in car tires. ... In fact, the distinctive wrinkling is caused by blood vessels constricting below the skin.