What is the difference between an a. r. fifteen and an m. sixteen?

The A R 15 or Armalite Rifle, is a semi-automatic weapon capable of firing one round per pull of the trigger. The M-16 has the ability to fire in both semi and full-automatic mode where it continues to fire as long as the trigger is held and until it runs out of ammunition.