How many shapes of pasta are there?

There are two major classifications: fresh & dried. From here, there are more than 400 unique types of pasta: sheets, strips, long strands, cylinders, unique shapes, flavors, & many other local varieties. While in Italy counted about 250 to 260 different types & shapes at the end of the 1800's