What's the difference between soda and tonic water?

seltzer is artificially carbonated but generally doesn't contain added minerals. Tonic water is also carbonated but contains added quinine and sugar, which means it provides calories. In comparison, sparkling mineral water is naturally carbonated from a spring or well

---

Tonic water is bitter due to its quinine content.